Backup and restore policy

Prev Next

You can back up policies, including rules and classifications, from ePO - On-prem and restore them to ePO - On-prem server.

If you choose the custom restore option when restoring a policy, you can select either Retain Existing and Override Existing in the event of a conflict.

  • Retain Existing retains the current policies, including rules and classifications present in the ePO - On-prem.

  • Override Existing replaces the existing policies, including rules and classifications.

You can manage conflicts and ensure that the correct policies, rules, and classifications are imported. Additionally, custom restore option can automatically display the hierarchy of configurations and highlight either the Retain Existing or Override Existing options in green. The green highlighted text indicates the latest modification to the configuration.

  • When Retain Existing is highlighted in green, it indicates that the configuration in ePO - On-prem is more up-to-date than the configuration found in the backup file.

  • When Override Existing is highlighted in green, it indicates that the backup configuration is more recent than the configuration in ePO - On-prem.

Make sure that there is a license key added before restoring the file. If you restore the file without a license, all rules become disabled, and you must enable rules before applying policy.

For Trellix DLP Discover, you must reassign Discover servers to scans before applying a policy.

For Trellix DLP Network Prevent and Trellix DLP Network Monitor, you must reassign Trellix DLP Capture dataset before applying a policy.

  1. In ePO - On-prem, select Data ProtectionDLP SettingsBackup & Restore.

  2. If the backup file is encrypted, enter an encryption password.

  3. Select either Full Backup or Custom Backup and then click Backup to file. Save the file in a location such as a USB drive or a shared folder.

  4. On another ePO - On-prem account, select Data ProtectionDLP SettingsBackup & Restore.

  5. If the backup file is encrypted, enter the password to decrypt it.

  6. Select either Full Restore or Custom Restore.

  7. Click Restore from file and select the file you saved earlier.

  8. If you custom restore a file, select either Retain Existing and Override Existing and click Restore