Classification page

Prev Next

The Classification page contains a list of existing content classifications and classification groups. Use this page to add new content classifications and groups, or to edit or delete existing content classification and groups.

The default page for the classification feature includes tabs for Manual Classification, Register Documents, Ignored Text, Definitions and Classification Tester. Create new classifications before going to the Manual Classification or Register Documents tab to define user groups with permission to classify manually. Definitions can be defined in advance, or when defining a new classification.

Note

Register Documents and Ignored Text are only supported on Trellix DLP Endpoint for Windows.

Option definitions

Category

Option

Definition

Content Classification

Name

Editable text box for classification name. The initial name displayed is the one entered when creating the classification. This field is needed.

Description

Editable text box for descriptive text to help identify the classification. This field is optional.

Tag ID

Displays the ID assigned when the classification was created. You can edit or reset the value.

Manual Classification

Lists the number of user groups allowed to classify files manually for a classification and add custom colour to classification names.

Register Documents

Lists the number and total size of documents registered as this classification.

Automatic Classification

Lists all content classification and fingerprint criteria assigned to the classification.

Automatic classifications can be set on files by Trellix DLP Endpoint for Windows. Trellix DLP Discover, Trellix DLP Network Prevent, and Trellix DLP Endpoint for Mac can enforce data protection rules based on automatic classifications, but can't set or view them.

Classification Group

Name

Editable text box for classification group name. The initial name displayed is the one entered when creating the group. This field is required.

Description

Editable text box for descriptive text to help identify the classification group. This field is optional.

Classifications

Lists all content classification assigned to the group. You can view more details about a specific classification by clicking its link.



Actions definitions

Category

Option

Definition

Content Classification

Classification Usage

Displays a list of all rules that use the selected classification.

Delete Classification

Removes the selected classification from the database, after verification.

Duplicate Classification

Use this option to create working copies of read-only, built-in sample classifications.

New Content Classification Criteria

Opens a properties page to define new criteria for the selected classification.

New Content Fingerprinting Criteria

Use the submenu to select the type of fingerprinting criteria to define:

  • Application — Selects content based on the application that created it

  • Location — Selects files based on UNC path

  • Web Application — Selects content based on the URL being posted to

Save Classification

Saves the changes in the database.

Classification Group

Manage Classifications

Opens a window to select one or more classifications to add for the selected group.

Save Classification Group

Saves or removes the selected classification group.

Delete Classification Group

Removes the selected classification group and moves classification/s to Unassigned group.



Other control options definitions

Category

Option

Definition

Content Classification

New Classification

Opens a window where you can enter a name, description, and choose a group for a new classification. The classification is added to the left pane of the classification page when you complete creating it.

Classification Group

New Classification Group

Opens a window where you can enter a group name and group description. The classification group is added to the left pane of the classification page when you complete creating it.