Configure Outlook background processing time for Email Protection

Prev Next

You can enable background processing of emails to reduce user impact when sending emails using Microsoft Outlook. Set the maximum amount of time allowed to analyze the emails.

Note

Currently background processing is applicable when the end-user clicks New Email in Outlook to send an email. When an end-user sends an email from quick menus, My Tasks, Invitations, etc., these emails are only processed in the foreground according to the time set in Windows Client ConfigurationEmail Protection Email Timeout Strategy Email analysis maximum time (sec). The action for the end-user to take if the email processing time is exceeded is set from Windows Client ConfigurationEmail Protection Outlook Background Processing Action performed if maximum time is exceeded.

The Outlook background processing feature is supported in Trellix DLP Endpoint for Windows 11.6 or later.

  1. In ePO - On-prem, select MenuPolicyPolicy Catalog

  2. Select Data Loss Prevention <version> and select the Windows Client Configuration to edit.

  3. On the Email Protection page, select Enable Background Processing.

  4. Select the maximum amount of time, in seconds, the emails are analyzed. Use the slider to determine how much of the time selected is for analyzing emails in the foreground and the background.

    We recommend analyzing emails in the foreground for 3–5 seconds. If email processing is not completed in the foreground, analysis is moved to the background and end-users can continue working in Outlook. Only set foreground analysis time to zero if all your Email Protection rules are set with No Action.

  5. Enable a pop-up message where end-users can choose to either review an email that is blocked or to discard it.

    Enabling this pop-up message overrides the notification configurations defined in the Email Protection rule.

  6. If the email processing time is exceeded, you can set to either allow this email to be sent or to block the email. If you select to block the email, end-users receive a pop-up message that email analysis exceeded maximum time and the email is blocked. You can edit this message, if needed.