Use this command to clear the password history for a specific user or all users.
When the local password history feature is enabled, the history of a specified number of passwords is maintained. For example, if 5 is the specified number, users can reuse a password after they change it to something else five times. If the configured number is changed to a lower number, the oldest excess passwords are removed from the history.
The password history is cleared in the following cases:
The feature is disabled using the
no aaa authentication password local historycommand.An administrator clears the history using the
aaa authentication password local history clearcommand.
A password can be reused immediately after the password history is cleared, or after the feature is disabled. In both cases, information about the current password, such as the date and time it was set, is retained.
Syntax
aaa authentication password local history clear {all | user <username>}
Parameters
<term>all</term>
Clears the password history for all users.
<term>user <username></term>
Clears the password history for the specified user.
Example
This example clears the password history for Martin.
hostname (config) # aaa authentication password local history clear user martinw
User role
Admin
Supported appliances
This command is supported on the following appliances running the specified releases or later:
Malware Analysis: Release 7.7
Central Management System: Release 7.6
Email Security — Server: Release 7.6
File Protect: Release 7.7
Endpoint Security (HX): Release 3.0
Network Security: Release 7.6
Intelligent Virtual Execution - Server: Release 7.9