If you need to update an operational Endpoint Security (HX) environment by adding, removing, upgrading or restoring a backup to an appliance, enable quiesce mode to make sure you do not lose any server-generated tasks.
Enabling quiesce mode causes the Endpoint Security (HX) server to stop generating tasks and aborts any queued tasks that have not yet completed on the agent, including file, data, and triage acquisitions. It also stops the server from accepting new alerts. Enabling quiesce mode improves the speed of a server upgrade and is most useful for rollbacks and restoring an appliance from a backup.
After quiesce mode is enabled, the Endpoint Security (HX) server enters a quiescing state first, during which it aborts tasks and processes the output of tasks that have already completed. When that processing is finished, the server enters a quiesced state.
Note
After updating the Endpoint Security (HX) environment, remember to disable quiesce mode to ensure that the appliance resumes generating tasks and accepting new alerts.
Enabling and disabling quiesce mode is performed using CLI commands. By default, quiesce mode is disabled.
Admin or fe_services access