Write protection is a feature that protects the files, directories, and volumes from being changed or deleted. It is identified as
deny-write in the features list. By default, this feature is enabled.
If you write-protect a directory
or volume, write protection is applied to all files and subdirectories in that directory
or volume. If any file residing in a directory or subdirectory is write-protected, you can't rename, move, or delete its parent directory.
This feature is in effect only when
Change Control is operating in Enabled mode.
Any unauthorized attempt to change the contents of a write-protected component is prevented and an event is generated.
Application Control and Change Control > Application and Change Control 6.x > Trellix Application and Change Control 6.5.x - Linux Product Guide > Using the software > Write protection and read protection
Application Control and Change Control > Application and Change Control 6.x > Trellix Application and Change Control 6.6.x - Linux Product Guide > Using the software > Write protection and read protection
Application Control and Change Control > Application and Change Control 8.x > Trellix Application and Change Control 8.3.x - Windows Product Guide > Using the software > Write protection and read protection