The Tools menu provides access to the boot manager utilities.
Note
In the console, the Tools menu is sometimes called Boot Menu.
.png)
Reset admin Password
Resets the factory default "admin" password. This password, which is typically "admin," is the password used to log into the physical or serial console. For security, the "admin" user cannot use this password to remotely log into the Web UI or CLI of the appliance, so the password must be changed in the console during the initial configuration of the appliance. This option is suitable if the configured "admin" password for remote access is lost or forgotten. The "admin" user can log into the physical or serial console using the default password, and then change it so the password can be used for remote access as well.
Wipe Appliance Media
Wipes the appliance media. The appliance will not be usable afterward. This option is suitable if you intend to use an RMA to replace the appliance, and have already saved customer data using the database backup feature. For more information, see Wiping persistent media .
Manufacture Appliance
Manufactures the appliance to factory settings, including its original manufacturing parameters (such as hostname and DTI credentials.) This option is suitable if you need to do a more complete factory reset than is possible with the reset factory CLI commands. After you manufacture using this utility, only the original system image version and manufacture timestamps are preserved in the system log.
Wipe Appliance Media and Manufacture Appliance
Wipes the appliance media and manufactures the appliance to factory settings. This option is suitable if you are returning the appliance to Trellix at the end of an evaluation so it can be used for another evaluation. For more information, see Wiping persistent media .
Return to Image Boot Menu
Returns to the image boot menu, where you can boot an installed image from a particular boot location. This option is suitable if you install a new system image version but decide to use a previous version instead, or if you accidentally booted from the wrong boot location.
Important
After you select this option, pay close attention to the console so you do not miss a series of five periods (.) displayed one second apart. Before the console moves past the fifth period, press any key twice to return to the boot menu.