You can configure the number of password changes required before users can reuse a password. When this feature is enabled, the system maintains a history of the configured number of passwords. For example, if you specify the number 5, users must change their passwords five times before they can reuse their first password. If the configured number is changed to a lower number, the oldest excess passwords are removed from the history.
For a managed appliance, you can perform this procedure on the Central Management System appliance as well as the local appliance. The procedure remains the same. However, you will need to take the additional step to locate the appliance on the Central Management System CLI. For instructions on locating an appliance on the Central Management System CLI, see the Trellix Central Management System Administration Guide.
The password history is cleared in the following cases:
An administrator disables the feature.
An administrator clears the history.
A password can be reused immediately after the password history is cleared or the feature is disabled. In both cases, information about the current password, such as the date and time it was set, is retained.
This procedure describes how to configure the number of times users must change a password before using it again, and to clear the password history for a specific user or all users.
Admin access
Go to CLI configuration mode:
hostname > enable hostname # configure terminal
Specify the number of previous passwords to maintain. Use the following command:
aaa authentication password local history compare <number>where
<number>is the number of times a password must be changed before an earlier password can be reused. Valid values are 1–50.Verify your change:
hostname (config) # show aaa authentication passwordSave your changes:
hostname (config) # write memory
Note
To disable the feature, use either of the following commands:
no aaa authentication password local history compareaaa authentication password local history compare 0
Go to CLI configuration mode:
hostname > enable hostname # configure terminal
Clear the history for a specific user. Use the following command:
aaa authentication password local history clear user <userName>Clear the history for all users:
hostname (config) # aaa authentication password local history clear allSave your changes:
hostname (config) # write memory