Deleting previous backup files

Prev Next

You can delete previous backup files to free space for new backup files.

Prerequisites
  • Admin access

Deleting previous backup files using the Web UI

Use the Backup and Restore page to delete a backup file.

NX_pcap2.png

Note

This illustration is from an Email Security — Server appliance, but it is representative of other Network Security appliances as well.

To delete a backup:
  1. Click the Settings tab.

  2. Click Appliance Backup & Restore on the sidebar.

  3. In the Restore Available Backups area, locate the backup FEBKP file you want to delete in the Backup Name (Profile) column.

  4. Click the icon in the Delete column.

  5. Click Yes to confirm the action.

Deleting previous backup files using the CLI

Use the commands in this section to delete previous backup files.

Important

If you delete a backup file from a USB drive by using the backup delete from usb command, the deletion might take a few minutes.

To delete a backup file:
  1. Go to CLI configuration mode.

    hostname > enable
    hostname # configure terminal
  2. Specify the location of the backup file.

    • To delete a file from the appliance, enter:

      hostname (config) # backup delete from local
    • To delete a file from a USB drive on your local machine, enter:

      hostname (config) # backup delete from usb

      Note

      To delete a remote backup file, you must log in to the remote server and delete the file manually.

  3. Specify the name of the backup file to delete from the backup location.

    hostname (config) # backup delete from <backupLocation> name <backupName>

    where <backupName> is the backup FEBKP file you want to delete.

Example

The following example shows how to delete a database backup that resides locally on an appliance.

hostname (config) # backup delete from local name wMPS-Config-7.9.0-IE-NX900-20160807-220207.febkp

Note

This example is from a Network Security appliance, but it is representative of other Trellix appliances as well.