You can securely erase (wipe) proprietary and confidential data from the persistent media on an appliance before you return it to Trellix at the end of an evaluation or when you need to use a Return of Materials Authorization (RMA) to replace the appliance. The secure erase operation overwrites every addressable byte of the media device at least once, and then verifies that the operation succeeded.
You use the Tools (also known as Boot) menu in the boot manager to perform these actions. The boot manager requires serial or physical console access and a password. You can either wipe the appliance media only or wipe the appliance media and manufacture the appliance. These options are described in Boot manager utilities .
The media wipe operation could take from six to ten hours, depending on the disk size. The status of the current operation is displayed in the console so you can monitor the progress, which is refreshed periodically.
Prerequisites
Make sure the requirements for the Tools menu are met. See System requirements .