About external user accounts

Prev Next

A user account defined in a different IAM organization can be invited to enroll in your IAM organization. After the external user enrolls, the account is visible in the Trellix IAM Web UI. For example, you might add an external account to allow a Trellix Customer Support engineer to access your organization. You can disable this access later by removing the external user account from your IAM organization.

Important

External user accounts must use the Web UI to log in. Logging in through SSH is not supported for external users.

Permissions assigned in this organization

An external user's access privileges in your organization are specified when you create the account and invite the user to enroll. The user's permissions within your IAM organization cannot be viewed or modified in the user's primary organization or in any other organization in which the user is enrolled. To terminate an external user's access to your organization, you delete the account from your list of users.

Limitations for managing an external user account

The following limitations apply to managing external user accounts:

  • You cannot re-enroll an external user. This must be done from the user's primary organization.

  • You cannot reset the password for an external user. This must be done from the user's primary organization.

  • Deleting an external user account removes the account from the list of External Users in this IAM organization. The account remains intact in its primary organization.